Remembering an Anglo Indian Culture Leader of Eminence: DU alumna Joy Michael



Ms Joy Michael
BA and MA Eng 1945 – 1950 St Stephen's

Principal St Thomas School Delhi

1975 - 1989

Founder Director

Yatrik Theatre Group: over 300 plays bw 1964 - 2018

Sangeet Natak Akademi Award 2009

Padma Shri 2012

Passed away 09.03.2018

Yatrik was founded as a bilingual repertory theatre company in 1964 with the objective of projecting theatre as a dynamic, living force by providing regular performances of rich and meaningful theatre.

Its founder members were Joy Michael, Rati Bartholomew, Sushma Seth, Roshan Seth, Kusum Haidar, Nigam Prakash, Marcus Murch, and Sneih Das.

Yatrik has many 'firsts' to its credit. It was the first to establish and maintain weekend repertory theatre and the first to produce plays for children. With the aim of promoting theatre in education, Yatrik began holding workshops in schools and colleges and staging its plays in education institutions. Yatrik was also among the very first to enter the formidable world of musicals, the staging of which has always been a deterrent to most amateur groups.

Yatrik has from the outset sponsored original Indian plays both in Hindi and English, and has also encouraged translations of regional Indian plays and adaptations of foreign plays, bringing to the Delhi stage several classics of Western and regional drama and, most recently, some of modern

India's finest plays. Yatrik has produced over 300 plays in English, Hindi, Urdu and Punjabi since 1964, surely living up to its objective of providing regular and sustained theatre!

The list of those who have worked with Yatrik over the last four decades is indeed impressive – Zohra Sehgal , Pearl Padamsee , Roshan Seth , Sai Paranjpye , Alyque Padamsee , Sushma Seth , Rati Bartholomew , Kusum Haider , Ebrahim Alkazi , *Rajinder Nath* , Ram Gopal Bajaj , Salima Raza , Marcus Murch , Chaman Bagga , Mohan Maharishi , B V Karanth, Barry John , *Kulbhushan Kharbanda* , Gerson da Cunha , *Bhaskar Ghose* , Sabina Mehta Jaitly , M K Raina , Madhuri Bhatia , *Vinay Capila* , Ajay Balram , Sant Juneja , Prabha Tonk , Deepak Kejriwal, *Bhaskar Bhattacharji* , *Tejeshwar Singh* , Ranjit Mathur , Jasbir Malik , Surinder Dugal , Ramesh Thakur , Prakash Bhatia , Avijit Dutt , Pradeep Kapoor, and Tannishtha Chatterjee... the list goes on . It is creditable that several of these thespians continue to work with Yatrik even today .

Joy Michael , Yatrika's former director and one of its founder members , steered the group for forty years , taking it forward through times good and bad , with great courage , imagination and commitment . She has received several awards in recognition of her contribution to Indian theatre , including the Padma Shri and and Sangeet Natak Akademi Award . Other directors of the group have included Sabina Mehta Jaitly , Prakash Bhatia and Avijit Dutt .

Sunit Tandon: from Director's Note in "YATRIK: A Journey into Theatrical Art".

Book published by Niyogi Books and "Dedicated to the memory of Joy Michael" 2018

click: alumnus Sunit Tandon and Dr RP Jain in Operatic mode